Faith in Crisis

10 Jan

I went to church today. It was really so engaging. I have to force myself to go to church most of the time now a days, but when I get there I never regret going. I always make such amazing realizations about my life at church.

Prior to church and for the past couple of months, I had been feeling bored with church. I would go to church related events and feel so empty. I started really questioning my beliefs. How do I feel about gay marriage? How do I feel about the Ten Commandments?  I started really questioning God’s role in my life.  When I went to church my pastor told me it is normal to question God and that it was okay. I really needed to hear that.

Have you ever questioned your religious beliefs and God’s role in your life?

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Faith in Crisis”

  1. Debbie Duncan January 10, 2016 at 10:06 pm #

    I am so pleased your pastor gave you that answer. it IS essential to go through period of questioning.

    We, as humans, are constantly evolving, our thinking is influenced by new experiences, exchanging ideas with others, reading and studying leading to revised insights understanding and perceptions. If our faith remains static, it will stagnate, decay and become useless to us – or sometimes a prison. Faith must be dynamic and updated to help us meet our needs and the challenges that face us as well as guide us to next steps that open new doors we didn’t even know were there!!

    I find I can go to almost any religious observations – Catholic Mass, Friends meeting, synagogue, solstice celebration, native american ritual – and get something out of it if I come with an open and receptive heart. The bottom line, for me, is respect and love, and from there I learn.

    • samahj January 12, 2016 at 5:49 pm #

      I am thinking of exploring other churches and seeing how others worship.

    • samahj March 18, 2016 at 8:39 pm #

      Once I started to question my religious believes I realized that certain things I just did not believe in and that it was okay.

Leave a Reply

