Are giving it your best shot?

31 Dec

Lately, have you thought you were giving everything you have to pursuing your dreams? I found myself asking that question recently and my answer was…….sort of. We all find ourselves in situations where we may become easily distracted and begin to lose sight of our goals; and I believe I’m right in assuming this is not independent of me. I work consistently towards my goals, but with splitting my time between two jobs, one fulltime and the other part time, it can become easy to fall behind.

Life for me is the everyday hustle of trying to survive knowing deep down inside that things will get better. It is important to have a mantra that repeats in your head. My mantra is “this too shall pass.” Any internal or external problems are just a test of your character and your response to the outcome is what will define your success. The music industry is unstable, inconsistent, and how your adaptation to the latest music trends and technological advances will determine your longevity.

In this new year give it your best shot and  do something as well as you possibly can, although you are not sure whether you will be able to succeed. That is my resolution for next year.

9 Responses to “Are giving it your best shot?”

  1. Brian Wilson January 4, 2012 at 4:20 pm #

    Hey Samah, nice post. I see you included some of my pointers. Good!

    Brian

    • samah January 4, 2012 at 5:10 pm #

      yes, i did. This post turned out better since u looked at it.

  2. Kevin Donaldson January 4, 2012 at 10:19 pm #

    Hi Samah,

    Awesome blog post! I agree – anything you do, you should give it your all!

    I admire you hustle, hopefully in 2012 you learn to work smarter not harder! Most people working one or more JOBs just make enough to get by… In order to life on your term (I mean having money and time freedom to enjoy it) you need to work for yourself. This could be as simple as writing a book…. for more info on this topic visit my new blog (click my name).

    Best,
    Kevin

  3. conway January 7, 2012 at 9:59 am #

    Extremely insightful. Success is measured more in the experiences gained through the process than the outcome at the end of the journey.

    • samahj January 7, 2012 at 10:02 am #

      I agree with you. Many times as young adults we feel so entitled to success. We all have to work are way up through positive and negative experiences.

  4. Khristi February 11, 2012 at 1:36 am #

    Stumbled upon this. Blog is looking good sis. Keep it up!

    • samahj February 11, 2012 at 10:04 am #

      Thank you so much. Pass the blog around to all your friends. I really want my blog to become huge.

  5. Tawana March 1, 2012 at 3:36 pm #

    Very Inspiring!!

    • samahj March 1, 2012 at 3:38 pm #

      Thanks, in these tough times it is important to inspire people to continue to work hard.

Leave a Reply

