Hidden Agenda

7 Nov

I recently interviewed for a position at a major record label. It was by far one of the most amazing opportunities. During the interview I got the chance to inquire about the ideal candidate for a record label.  These companies are looking for someone who has a strong work ethic, intelligence, integrity and most of all no hidden agenda. Those last words really struck a chord with me. I realized how much work I still needed to do to keep setting myself apart from the competition. Just in that one interview I knew that the number one reason people do not last in the music industry is because of hidden agenda. People come and go out out of record labels because of unrealistic expecations about the position. Many who seek careers  at records labels also want to beecome songwriters and artists.  However, they find themselves becoming bored and frustrated because the job leaves little room to explore other career opportunities. The only way to avoid this situation is to be realistic about the duties provided  and understand the needs of the employer.

8 Responses to “Hidden Agenda”

  1. LP November 7, 2011 at 12:50 am #

    So they actually asked you about “your hidden agenda” or were they discrete about it?

    • samahj November 7, 2011 at 12:56 am #

      They asked me what my career goals were. I think that was there way of figuring out what my agenda was. I was not asked what is your hidden agenda. I was told that many come into this record label thinking that they are going to be the next big star. In reality that will not happen because they work and the environment will be so fast paced that it is nearly impossible to focus on building another career.

  2. AD November 7, 2011 at 1:56 am #

    I think this provides great insight into the entertainment industry. People will do whatever it takes to get in so they can make some connections. Unfortunately, I feel like this is how it works across all sectors. It doesn’t necessarily matter what you know but who you know.

    • samahj November 7, 2011 at 2:07 am #

      Yea, I defiantly agree with you. This information can relate to anyone trying to pursue career. It is a who you know industry so networking is key. Mnay people pretend to be something that they are not and later they show their true colors. People just need to read the job descriptions better and understand that a job is about filling in a need and making a contribution to the company.

  3. Brian Wilson November 7, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

    Hey Samah

    This is true, but not surprising. I think it’s just a fact that for the most part people have “hidden” agendas. Moreso, wanting to use opportunities as stepping stones to greater and more rewarding positions. I think if they intentionally try to be sneaky thats a whole other issue, but if they are real with themselves and real with those who they associate with, then they can use this concept to your advantage. Like you said its all about who knows YOU.

    • samahj November 8, 2011 at 12:10 am #

      Yea, they are intentionally sneaky. People need to strive to be authentic during interviews not fake. Fakeness can be detected after while.

  4. media1845..Lance November 11, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

    Was the interview successful?

    • samahj November 11, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

      It was successful in terms of being able to network to the interview. Also, I learned a lot about what record labels are looking for in a ideal employee. I have not heard from them since the interview it has been two weeks. I was told that I would either get a call for a second interview or to let me know if the position is filled. In addition, I was told by others that this industry is shady and that many people with experience do not get calls back.

Leave a Reply

